Tyco Suzuki rider Alastair Seeley off to a flier

Tyco Suzuki's Alastair Seeley holds slender advantage over Ian Lowry at head of time-sheets after FP1 at Snetterton
Tyco Suzuki's Alastair Seeley topped the first free practice session at Snetterton, scene of the fourth round of the MCE British Superbike Championship in Norfolk.

Seeley headed a one-two for Northern Ireland with Ian Lowry posting the second quickest time in FP1 on the Padgetts Honda CBR1000RR, with Shane Byrne on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki in third, just 0.009s behind Ulsterman Lowry.

Current British Supersport champion Seeley, fresh from a hat-trick of victories at the North West 200 road races last weekend, was the only rider to register to dip under the 1m 50s barrier with a time of 1m 49.819s giving him the top time by just 0.183s from Lowry.

Only half a second split the leading five, with one second covering the top ten riders in the opening session.

Graeme Gowland on the WFR Honda and team-mate Alex Lowes, plus Samsung Honda's Michael Laverty, Lowry's team-mate Lucan Scassa and Patric Muff on the Supersonic BMW were the top eight.

Lowes and fellow WFR Honda team-mate James Westmoreland both crashed during the session, but escaped unhurt.

Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill and Oulton Park hero Chris Walker completed the top ten.

Seeley's Tyco Suzuki team-mate Josh Brookes was 11th fastest, with Noriyuki Haga 14th on the second Swan Yamaha YZF-R1.

Michael Rutter on the MSS Bathams Kawasaki was 18th fastest and Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 20th.


Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alistaire Seeley Tyco Suzuki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Gordon - Unregistered

May 25, 2012 11:50 PM

@ there there now...yea your correct,Superstock 1000 "champ", Supersport 600 "champ",6th in BSB 2010 Superbike, think its fair enough to say he can ride a bike, Gotta laugh at these armshair pilots who disagree with every little thing....

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.