'BSB Legends' claim Doha 8 Hours podium

Ryuichi Kiyonari, Michael Laverty and Jason O'Halloran take the Honda TT Legends team to the podium for the first time in Qatar.
The Honda TT Legends team is celebrating after sealing its first-ever Endurance World Championship podium finish at the Doha 8 Hours with the help of stand-in riders Ryuichi Kiyonari, Michael Laverty and Jason O'Halloran.

The trio were making their debut in the team this weekend in place of John McGuinness, Cameron Donald and Simon Andrews, all of whom have been competing at the Isle of Man TT this week.

Having qualified in eighth position, former BSB champion Kiyonari – whose wife gave birth to a baby girl on the Friday –, together with BSB Samsung Honda riders Laverty and O'Halloran maintained a consistent pace to steadily rise to order. Getting as high as second position, the team would eventually settle for third, which remains its best-ever finish since debuting in 2011.

Combined with the team's success on the TT, team manager Russell Benney was delighted to secure some long-awaited EWC silverware.

“For me this result is a culmination of all our hard work over the past season and the start of this season. The team has progressed so far in such a short space of time and this result is a reward for all the hours we have put in.

“Our stand-in riders did a fantastic job and combined with the success that our regular riders have had over at the Isle of Man TT, this week has been such a great one for Honda and the Honda TT Legends.”

The race was won by the BMW Motorrad France team of Sebastien Gimbert, Erwan Nigon and Damian Cudlin, while Noriyuki Haga's Yamaha Austria Racing Team failed to finish.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Jason O`Halloran, Michael Laverty [pic credit: Honda TT Legends]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins, Jason O`Halloran, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Smiths BMW [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Race action, Kiyonari, BSB [Credit:]
Peter Hickman, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Tommy Bridewell, Bennetts Suzuki, [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

drea - Unregistered

June 10, 2012 10:15 AM

What a great effort by the riders...amazing really. BUT as ive stated before, what is the point of having Mguiness and co doing this series if one round ALWAYs clashes with the Isle of man TT?? it just seems half ****d to me, i would love to see a proper endurance team (hell why not have these three together again) and let Mguiness just get on with the TT

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.