Byrne quickest in FP1, Walker hurt

Shane Byrne sets the FP1 pace as BSB crosses the border into Scotland, but shootout contender Chris Walker suffers ankle injuries in an accident.
CLICK HERE to view the FP1 times

Shane Byrne has heralded the start of the fifth MCE British Superbike Championship round at Knockhill by setting the pace in first free practice around the Scottish circuit.

Fresh from his success at the Silverstone 200, a support event to last week's British Grand Prix, Byrne was in good form to lead for much of the 45 minute session, the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider eventually concluding with a best of 49.510secs.

Tommy Hill was just a tenth further adrift in second aboard the Swan Yamaha, with Snetterton race winner Michael Laverty going third and Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes making it four different manufacturers in the top four.

Tristan Palmer, who has scored just a single point on the GBmoto Honda so far this season, was an impressive fifth best, ahead of Alastair Seeley and Luca Scassa, the Padgetts Honda rider showing well on his first outing around the twisting Scottish circuit.

WFR Honda's Alex Lowes, Supersonic BMW's Tommy Bridewell and Padgetts Honda's Ian Lowry completed the top ten positions.

Elsewhere, Chris Walker's participation at Knockhill looks to be in doubt after the Oulton Park race winner suffered a fall at Clarks and was taken to the medical centre. According to the official BSB news feed, the Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki rider is being assessed for fractures in both ankles.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - Jamie Morris
Shane Byrne - Jamie Morris
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicictors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.