Laverty moves top at Knockhill

Fresh from his first win of the season at Snetterton, Michael Laverty sets the FP2 pace for Samsung Honda at Knockhill.
CLICK HERE to view the FP2 times

Michael Laverty has ended the opening day of MCE British Superbike Championship on top of the Friday timesheets after a late dash saw him leapfrog ahead of his rivals at Knockhill.

Moving to the front with six minutes remaining, just before a red flag period to clear Dan Linfoot's Buildbase BMW, Samsung Honda's Laverty proceeded to go even faster at the restart to emerge a comfortable three tenths up on second place man and FP1 pace setter Shane Byrne.

Making it four different manufacturers inside the top four once again, Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill and Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes followed up in third and fourth, just a further tenth back from Kawasaki's Byrne.

Alex Lowes once again headed up the WFR Honda charge in fifth position, ahead of Alastair Seeley on the second of the Tyco Suzuki's, while shootout contender Ian Lowry was seventh best on the Padgetts Honda.

Trialling the quirky Scottish circuit for the first time this weekend, Noriyuki Haga moved into the top ten in eighth place, edging out the sole MSS Bathams Kawasaki of Michael Rutter and GBmoto Honda's Tristan Palmer.

In all, Laverty down to Scott Smart in 20th position are covered by a mere 1.2secs.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty - Jamie Morris
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

bob - Unregistered

June 23, 2012 9:07 AM

Hill hates Michael beating him, his old team mate who helped him win last year with no respect for it. I really hope Michael and Haga bring it to Hill for the rest of the championship.....

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.