Buchan delays BSB debut

Danny Buchan will not make his MCE British Superbike Championship debut at Oulton Park as he continues to recover from a back injury.
Danny Buchan's MCE British Superbike Championship debut has been delayed by another round after he was unable to recovery from injury in time for Oulton Park.

The 19-year-old, who finished runner-up in the 2011 National Superstock 1000 Championship, was announced as Michael Rutter's new team-mate at MSS Bathams Kawasaki ahead of round five at Knockhill, but a back injury sustained during motocross training would prevent him from riding.

Having hoped to return in time for round six at Oulton Park, Buchan has opted for caution so as not to aggravate the injury further, with his first appearance on the ZX-10R Superbike now pencilled in for round seven at Brands Hatch.

“We're gutted for Danny as he's straining at the leash but it's turned out to just be that bit too early for his back injury still and riding a Superbike is not something you enter into lightly,” said team manager Nick Morgan.

Buchan was promoted to the Superbike class as a replacement for Peter Hickman, who was axed as a consequence of taking on a one-off ride with FIXI Crescent Suzuki during the Donington Park round of the World Superbike Championship.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Rutter MSS Bathams Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Rutter MSS Bathams Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Rutter MSS Bathams Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Rutter MSS Bathams Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Rutter MSS Bathams Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.