Hill fastest ahead of Oulton qualifying

Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill sets the pace at Oulton Park ahead of this weekend's three British Superbike Championship races.
CLICK HERE to view the full FP3 times

Tommy Hill has returned himself to the top of the MCE British Superbike Championship timesheets as the riders got their first taste of dry running ahead of this weekend's tripe-header.

With dismal conditions afflicting both free practice sessions on Friday, the riders enjoyed FP3 in dry, warm conditions ahead of this morning's qualifying session and this afternoon's first race.

Reigning champion Hill proved quickest on the Swan Yamaha after leaping to the front in the final minute, while Shane Byrne was another to leave his best until last as he ended up less than a tenth adrift in second position.

Long-time pace setter Alex Lowes had to settle for third quickest on the WFR Honda, edging out Josh Brookes, Noriyuki Haga, Ian Lowry and Jon Kirkham, the latter suffering a technical issue on the Samsung Honda towards the end of the session.

CBR1000RR counterparts Graeme Gowland and Michael Laverty followed in eighth and ninth, while Chris Walker rounded out the top ten on the Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki.

Elsewhere, Peter Hickman continued to get acquainted with the Buildbase BMW as he ran top S1000RR rider Tommy Bridewell close in 13th, while Mark Aitchison's first dry outing on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki ended in 21st.

Keith Farmer, who will ride in place of Stuart Easton at Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki for the remainder of the weekend, was a solid 25th, four seconds off the ultimate pace on his first outing aboard the Superbike ZX-10R.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.