Hill quickest in Cadwell Park FP1

Tommy Hill sets the early pace at Cadwell Park, ahead of title rival Shane Byrne and Peter Hickman.
CLICK HERE to view FP1 times

Tommy Hill resumed his place at the top of the MCE British Superbike Championship timesheets as the series resumed from its summer break with the annual bank holiday Cadwell Park round.

Already assured of their places in the 'Title Showdown', Hill and Shane Byrne suggested they will not let up in their quest to acquire as many podium credits as possible as they paced FP1, the pair split by just a tenth of a second.

Even so, Hill will have to bounce back from a crash after the reigning champion fell without harm at Mansfield in the final seconds of the session.

Peter Hickman was one of a few surprise faces in the upper echelons of the timesheets as he lifted his Buildbase BMW up to third position, ahead of Alex Lowes on the WFR Honda, Michael Laverty on the Samsung Honda and Danny Buchan on the MSS Bathams Kawasaki, the youngster showing impressively at the start of only his second BSB event.

A strong opening to the weekend for Kawasaki, Buchan's team-mate Michael Rutter and Quattro Plant rider Karl Harris followed up in seventh and eighth to make it four ZX-10Rs inside the top eight.

Jon Kirkham complemented his Samsung Honda team-mate in ninth position, ahead of Tyco Suzuki pairing Josh Brookes and Alastair Seeley.

Elsewhere, having shown an impressive turn of speed during testing at Donington Park earlier this month, Mark Aitchison took the unfancied Splitlath Redmond Aprilia to the 14th best time, while new faces Tom Grant and Robbin Harms were 27th and 28th respectively.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill, Swan Yamaha  (Credit:David Salisbury)
Tommy Hill, Swan Yamaha  (Credit:David Salisbury)
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.