Double winner Hill consolidates favourite status

Tommy Hill consolidates his status as favourite for the 2012 MCE British Superbike Championship with a resounding double victory at Cadwell Park.
Having vowed pre-event that he won't let up in his pursuit for podium credits before the MCE British Superbike Title Showdown, not even a shoulder complaint could prevent Tommy Hill from doubling up in style at Cadwell Park.

The Swan Yamaha rider was in superb form throughout the weekend and though tardy starts in both races from second on the grid would see him playing catch up initially, he would soon move his way to the front of the field and cruise to the chequered flag.

Notching up a further six podium credits, which coupled to Shane Byrne's injury-induced absence, puts him clear of the opposition ahead of the Showdown, Hill was thrilled with the result, despite feeling the effects of a long-standing shoulder injury at times.

“It is great to have a double win here at Cadwell Park, it is a really physical circuit and the races are never easy. I think the nature of it has made my shoulder injury from last year reappear but other than that it was good for us.

“We knew we had a good pace and our aim was to get those six podium credits and that is what we did so it's onwards and upwards for Donington Park now.”

With his two wins at Cadwell Park, Hill is guaranteed to start the three-round shootout with the advantage over the competition once the points are equalised and the podium credits added on.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Hill, Lowes, Laverty on the podium [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.