Josh Brookes holds off Alex Lowes to seal pole

Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes holds off Alex Lowes to cement pole position ahead of tomorrow's ninth round of the MCE British Superbike Championship at Donington Park
Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes has put his GSX-R1000 on pole position for tomorrow's MCE British Superbike meeting at Donington Park.

The Aussie maintained his excellent form in free practice to secure the top spot on the grid by a slender 0.116s from Alex Lowes on the WFR Honda, with Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill third.

Samsung Honda rider Jon Kirkham completes the front row on his Fireblade, but team-mate Michael Laverty crashed out during Q3 at Redgate before posting a time, dropping him to 10th position.

The Northern Irishman had been running inside the top three in Q2 before sliding off in the decisive session, escaping unscathed.

There was more to celebrate for WFR Honda as James Westmoreland kept title fighter Tommy Bridewell and veteran Michael Rutter at bay to finish fifth, half a second down on Brookes.

Padgetts Honda rider Luca Scassa and Patric Muff were the top nine.

In Q2, Lowes became the only rider in qualifying to complete a sub 1m 30s lap with a time of 1m 29.845s enough to put him top of the pile.

Lowes' searing effort demoted Brookes to second (1m 30.107s) with Laverty in the hunt as he held third from Westmoreland and Bridewell as Hill dropped to sixth with a lap in 1m 30.593s.

Scassa climbed the time sheets as he moved into sixth late on after languishing in 20th.

Lowry, Noriyuki Haga, Stuart Easton, Alastair Seeley, Chris Walker, Peter Hickman and Gary Mason were among those who failed to progress.

Brookes topped Q1, which was restarted following an incident involving Westmoreland and Barry Burrell at Goddards with eight minutes remaining, both men escaping unhurt.

The Aussie's best lap was 0.147s ahead of Hill, with Honda duo Lowes and Laverty next.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Brookes Tyco Suzuki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Leon Haslam Jason OHalloran [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne Dan Linfoot Christian Iddon [Credit:]
Shane Byrne Dan Linfoot, Christian Iddon [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit:]
Charlie Nesbitt, Motostars, KTM [Credit: Jon Jessopp Photography]
James Ellison, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
James Ellison, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.