Byrne races to head of FP1 times at Assen

Shane Byrne makes flying start to Showdown opener at Assen as Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki man heads FP1
Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane Byrne powered to the top of the time sheets during the opening practice session at Assen on his return from injury.

Byrne was the only rider to post a lap of the legendary circuit in the 1m 38s bracket, with his time of 1m 38.651s putting him clear of WFR Honda man Alex Lowes (1m 39.133s) and fellow Showdown contender Josh Brookes on the Tyco Suzuki, who lapped in 1m 39.200s.

Double BSB champion Byrne - who was sidelined at Donington after dislocating his collarbone - was in the mix throughout FP1 but posted his best time on his final lap to send Lowes into second position by less than half a second.

Luca Scassa on Clive Padgett's Honda saved his best until last as he edged into fourth ahead of Swan Yamaha duo Tommy Hill and the injured Noriyuki Haga.

In seventh position was Tommy Bridewell on the Supersonic BMW, narrowly ahead of new Splitlath Redmond recruit and ex-World Superbike star Jakub Smrz, who lapped in a time of 1m 39.949s on the Aprilia RSV4 on his debut for the team.

Ian Lowry and Jon Kirkham completed the top ten, although Kirkham's Samsung Honda team-mate – Michael Laverty – has work to do after ending FP1 in 13th position, one place ahead of Robbin Harms and behind Barry Burrell and Stuart Easton in 11th and 12th places respectively.

Alastair Seeley continues to struggle to make progress on the Tyco Suzuki, with last year's British Supersport champion languishing in 24th.

MSS Bathams Kawasaki rider Michael Rutter was down in 28th. His team-mate, Danny Buchan – who sustained a fractured collarbone in a crash at Cadwell Park – did not compete in the session.

CLICK HERE to view FP3 times

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.