Lowes grabs Assen pole

Championship contender Alex Lowes kicks off the 2012 MCE British Superbike 'Title Showdown' with pole position at Assen, ahead of Michael Laverty and BSB debutant Jakub Smrz.
CLICK HERE to view Qualifying times

Alex Lowes has drawn first blood in the fight for the 2012 MCE British Superbike Championship after securing pole position for the series' first visit to Assen.

The WFR Honda rider came into the 'Title Showdown' as the sixth and final entrant, but sent out an early warning to his better fancied rivals that he will be a reckoned force over the three-event shootout as he paced qualifying around the Dutch circuit.

Quick in both knockout phases prior to his pole position challenge, Lowes's first attempt of 1min 37.390secs in Q3 would prove almost two tenths faster than fellow Honda rider Michael Laverty once the chequered flag wa dropped.

A good result for Laverty given he looked on course to miss the cut for Q3 before a late flyer hauled him into the top ten, the title contender will share the front row with Jakub Smrz and fellow championship rival Tommy Hill.

Offsetting his relative lack of time on the Aprilia RSV4 with his considerable experience of racing at the Dutch venue, Smrz's run to third position marks several landmarks for the Splitlath Redmond Racing team, not least the fact he has given the outfit its first-ever BSB front row start on his debut appearance in the series.

Hill, meanwhile, will get away from fourth place, just ahead of closest title rival Josh Brookes, who like Laverty was fortunate to make it into Q3 after finding himself less than a tenth from the drop zone.

The Australian will line up alongside Luca Scassa and Shane Byrne, who looked set for a pole position challenge after topping both Q1 and Q2, but after making an error on his first lap, drizzle in the closing stages of qualifying prevented him from going higher than seventh with his second attempt.

His Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki team-mate Stuart Easton completes the second row, just ahead of Tommy Bridewell, who ensured all six title contenders will start inside the top ten, and Peter Hickman on the Buildbase BMW.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lowes and Westmoreland
Hill, Lowes, Laverty on the podium [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes - WFR Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes Team WFR - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes, Team WFR Honda  (Credit:David Salisbury)
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Elliott, Tyco BMW, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Elliott, Tyco BMW, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.