Lowes quickest ahead of qualifying

Alex Lowes heads into qualifying at Silverstone as the favourite for a second consecutive pole position as paces FP3 by a comfortable three tenths.
CLICK HERE to view FP3 times

Alex Lowes heads into qualifying for the second of three 'Title Showdown' rounds as the rider to beat after topping his third free practice session of the weekend at Silverstone.

The in-form WFR Honda rider started from pole position at Assen and is now favourite to do the same at Silverstone after comfortably pacing FP3 by three tenths of a second from reigning champion and fellow title contender Tommy Hill.

A late improvement would see Jakub Smrz get the Splitlath Redmond Aprilia towards the front of the field again, the recently-signed Czech rider nudging down Michael Laverty, series leader Josh Brookes – who suffered a fall ten minutes from the chequered flag - and James Westmoreland with his last gasp effort.

Having failed to complete a lap on Friday after crashing at the start of FP2, Shane Byrne bounced back to set the seventh fastest time, albeit a second off Lowes's pace setting marker.

His Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki team-mate Stuart Easton followed him up in eighth, ahead of top BMW rider Peter Hickman and Padgetts Honda rider Luca Scassa.

Of the remaining title contenders, Tommy Bridewell's difficult weekend continued as he could only manage the 17th fastest time of the session.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alex Lowes Team WFR - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes Team WFR - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes Team WFR - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes Team WFR - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes - WFR Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes - WFR Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes Team WFR - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Westmoreland - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
Billy McConnell - Smiths Racing BMW
James Ellison - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
James Ellison - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
JG Speedfit Kawasaki
Jed Metcher - PR Kawasaki
Tommy Hill, Chris Walker, Danny Buchan
Honda confirms BSB return with Linfoot, O’Halloran
Honda UK announces Linfoot, O`Halloran for BSB 2015
Tommy Bridewell - Milwaukee Yamaha [pic credit:]
Shane Byrne, Ryuichi Kiyonari [pic credit: Gavan Caldwell]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.