2012 MCE British Superbike Championship standings

Shane Byrne's name is carved into the British Superbike Championship trophy for the third time, as Kawasaki celebrates its first title in 20 years!
Though it wasn't quite the grandstand finish that had fans on their feet in 2011, the 2012 MCE British Superbike Championship came to a fitting climax at Brands Hatch as Shane Byrne wrapped up a third career title in resounding style.

While the nine point margin between Byrne and Josh Brookes coming into the final race seemed slim on paper, 'Shakey's' past form around the Brands Hatch GP circuit meant he was certainly the favourite to succeed.

And so it proved, Byrne's three wins from three races securing him a third career BSB title and putting him 28 points clear of Brookes in the final standings.

It's a particularly satisfying title for Byrne given the 'Showdown' format famously cost him the 2011 title, even if he will admit the 'shootout' ironically helped him out on this occasion when he was forced to miss four races due to injury.

Indeed, it is worth pointing out that it was Brookes that actually scored the most points over the entire season when the Showdown format is not taken into account.

Even so, Byrne was still the 'winningest' rider in 2012 with eight victories in total, four of which came in the critical final seven races of the season. Brookes, on the other hand, won four races over the entire season.

As well as winning the riders' title, Kawasaki emerged victorious in the manufacturers' standings, Byrne's three victories helping it overcome Suzuki during the final round.

Elsewhere, pre-Showdown favourite Tommy Hill saw his title challenge fade dramatically as he couldn't keep pace with Byrne, Brookes and even Alex Lowes when it mattered. A poor final round for Lowes would lift Hill back to third overall, but it was still a disappointing end to a campaign that looked unstoppable at one stage.

Despite failing to finish any of the final three races, Lowes did enough to scrape fourth in the standings ahead of fellow Honda rider Michael Laverty, his three poles, four podiums and two wins marking quite the turnaround for a rider that only just scraped into the Showdown in the first place.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Race 2 start [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.