BSB Rider of the Year vote: 1st

You voted in your thousands, but there can only be one winner... This is's top ten countdown to the 2012 British Superbike Rider of the Year as voted for by you!
1. Shane Byrne

Nationality: British
Team: Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
Bike: Kawasaki ZX-10R
Wins: 8
Podiums: 18
Championship points: 686 (Showdown)
Championship position: 1st

Eight wins, a third title in nine years, the first championship win for Kawasaki in two decades… there are a lot of reasons to explain why you have voted Shane Byrne as your runaway 2012 British Superbike Rider of the Year.

Cynics can point out that Byrne didn't score the most points throughout the season, but for anyone who thinks Byrne isn't as deserving of the championship win need only watch the final race of the season when, with the title all but sealed should he hold station behind Josh Brookes in second position, he dives for the lead to ensure he secures his third career crown in ultimate style.

While there is little doubting Byrne's pedigree on a Superbike, he certainly wasn't as obvious a title favourite as some of his rivals coming into the season. Indeed, though the return of former champions Paul Bird Motorsport with factory-supported Kawasaki machinery was certainly an accomplished combination on paper, there were still misgivings about the potential of the fairly new ZX-10R.

A handful of podiums in the early rounds allayed those fears, however, and Byrne would emerge a race winner by round three at Oulton Park. Further success followed at Knockhill and Brands Hatch, breathing space that ensured he was 'Title Showdown'-bound even when a fall at Cadwell Park left him nursing a broken collarbone and enduring a two-round stint on the sidelines.

An ironic turnaround for a rider that lost out on the 2011 title during the three-round shootout, despite scoring the most points over the course of the year, Byrne stood to benefit on this occasion when the points were equalised.

Showing no after-effects from the injury, Byrne burst back to form at Assen with a win and a second place, while a pair of seconds at Silverstone put him in position for a title run at the triple-header finale at Brands Hatch.

A veritable 'master' of his home circuit, Byrne wouldn't put a foot wrong all weekend, his trio of wins doing more than enough to complete the inevitable.

With a 2012 trophy to join his 2008 and 2003 cups, who wants to bet against Byrne making it a record-breaking fourth in 2013…?

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011: 3rd
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2010: N/A
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2009: N/A
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2008: N/A

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2012:

2. Alex Lowes

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
The Champions of 2013 - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, Josh Brookes, Jason O`Halloran BSB [Credit:]
Taylor Mackenzie, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, BSB[Credit:]
Shaun Winfield, Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison (GBR), JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
James Ellison (GBR), JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
James Ellison (GBR), JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Chris Walker, Be Wiser Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: British Superbikes]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
James Ellison (GBR), JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Lee Costello, Morello Racing Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: British Superbike]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Stuart Easton, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 29, 2012 11:55 AM

This is well deserved, and not just for winning the title. Shakey is fast and consistent. He always has time to chat but never diss's another rider, or his team. He rides fairly, never dirty. And, for a Southerner, he's not a bad bloke either.


December 29, 2012 4:26 PM

There have been World Champs that never won a race in their championship season. Andrew Pitt for Kawasaki in WSS for instance. So consistency is a valid way of winning a championship but it can be boring, so they introduced the Chase (Nascar) or Showdown (BSB) concept to make the riders/drivers RACE and not dawdle around for points.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.