Shane Byrne has been crowned 2012 British Superbike Championship Rider of the Year, as voted for by readers, the three-time title winner emerging as the comfortable winner by your reckoning.

Picking up an average score of 9.04 out of ten from the thousands of votes cast, Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki's Byrne was well ahead of Alex Lowes (8.37) and Josh Brookes (8.19) according to your votes.

Further down the order, six of the top seven were made up of those that reached the 'Title Showdown', with Chris Walker just doing enough to upset the order by out-scoring Michael Laverty for sixth place in your poll.

Other notable results from your poll saw Stuart Easton and Peter Hickman fall just short of making the top ten cut, while Noriyuki Haga's much anticipated maiden foray into BSB racing appeared to leave you somewhat cold as he could only manage an average score of 4.75.

Byrne is our fourth winner of the BSB Rider of the Year accolade, following from Leon Camier (2009), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2010) and John Hopkins (2011).

2012 BSB Rider of the Year: Full Results

1. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 9.04 2. Alex Lowes GBR WFR Honda 8.37 3. Josh Brookes AUS Tyco Suzuki 8.19 4. Tommy Bridewell GBR Supersonic BMW 7.30 5. Tommy Hill GBR Swan Yamaha 6.78 6. Chris Walker GBR Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki 6.50 7. Michael Laverty GBR Samsung Honda 6.47 8. James Westmoreland GBR WFR Honda 5.97 9. Barry Burrell GBR Buildbase BMW 5.78 10. Ian Lowry GBR Padgetts Honda 5.61

11. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 5.22
12. Peter Hickman GBR MSS Colchester Kawasaki/Buildbase BMW 5.14
13. Jon Kirkham GBR Samsung Honda 4.79
14. Luca Scassa ITA Padgetts Honda 4.76
15. Patric Muff SUI Supersonic BMW 4.70
16. Michael Rutter GBR MSS Colchester Kawasaki 4.65
17. Noriyuki Haga JPN Swan Yamaha 4.25
18. Alastair Seeley GBR Tyco Suzuki 3.67