BSB Rider of the Year vote: Full Results

You decide that Shane Byrne is a deserving winner of the 2012 MCE British Superbike Championship by voting him top in's 'Rider of the Year' poll.
Shane Byrne has been crowned 2012 British Superbike Championship Rider of the Year, as voted for by readers, the three-time title winner emerging as the comfortable winner by your reckoning.

Picking up an average score of 9.04 out of ten from the thousands of votes cast, Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki's Byrne was well ahead of Alex Lowes (8.37) and Josh Brookes (8.19) according to your votes.

Further down the order, six of the top seven were made up of those that reached the 'Title Showdown', with Chris Walker just doing enough to upset the order by out-scoring Michael Laverty for sixth place in your poll.

Other notable results from your poll saw Stuart Easton and Peter Hickman fall just short of making the top ten cut, while Noriyuki Haga's much anticipated maiden foray into BSB racing appeared to leave you somewhat cold as he could only manage an average score of 4.75.

Byrne is our fourth winner of the BSB Rider of the Year accolade, following from Leon Camier (2009), Ryuichi Kiyonari (2010) and John Hopkins (2011).

2012 BSB Rider of the Year: Full Results

1. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 9.04
2. Alex Lowes GBR WFR Honda 8.37
3. Josh Brookes AUS Tyco Suzuki 8.19
4. Tommy Bridewell GBR Supersonic BMW 7.30

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser PBM Ducati, BSB [Credit: Jon Jessopp Photo]
Shane Byrne and Glenn Irwin reveal the Be Wiser Ducati
Shane Byrne, Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Carter Sport PR]
Shane Byrne tests Be Wiser PBM Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
Shane Byrne - PBM Be Wiser Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
Michael Laverty, Ellison, Byrne, [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Josh Brookes, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes, Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes, Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes, Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes, Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes, Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Brookes, Stapleford, BSB champions [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes, Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.