Robbin Harms will join forces with Doodson Honda for a full season in the MCE British Superbike Championship this year following a successful turn with the team during the latter stages of 2012.

The Dane, a former front runner in the World Supersport Championship, joined Doodson Honda for the final five rounds of the 2012 season, overcoming a lack of experience on Superbike machinery to notch up a pair of top ten finishes for the relative minnows.

Keen to build on this progress, Harms will now join the Tom Tunstall-helmed squad for 2013 with a view to becoming a regular front runner.

"I joined the Championship towards the end of last year and it is a very strong field, but I felt positive straight away despite it being my first time on a Superbike. I am thrilled to race in the Championship as it is what I have wanted to do for many years.

"We want to be improving and fighting with the front riders; I like the tough competition as it means the racing is more exciting for me and it makes it a big achievement when you get good results. I definitely want to race in BSB for a couple of seasons and I want to be fighting for the victories as that is what racing is about."

Delighted to have Harms staying on board for a full season, Tunstall is confident the Dane will be the addition the team needs to run at the sharp end of the field.

"Robbin did a fantastic job last season considering he had never ridden a Superbike before. He was great to work with and we were impressed by his drive and passion for racing. The plan for this season is to build and progress from where we left off at the end of last year.

"We have the same experienced crew he worked with last year which is important, and this combined with an upgraded bike should bring the right mix of consistency and development to give Robbin and Doodson Motorsport a successful season."

Harms is the latest international rider to join the BSB ranks in 2013 together with Josh Brookes, Josh Waters and Mark Aitchison (Australia), Jakub Smrz (Czech Republic), Matteo Baiocco (Italy), PJ Jacobsen (USA) and Ryuichi Kiyonari (Japan).

It also raises the Honda contingent to eight bikes, alongside Samsung, Bathams, GBmoto and Two Wheel Racing, putting it on a par with Kawasaki for the best represented manufacturer on the provisional grid.