BSB Thruxton 2013: Lowes fastest again at Thruxton

Alex Lowes is quickest in the dry at Thruxton too, the Samsung Honda rider out-pacing the impressive PJ Jacobsen and Shane Byrne in FP2.
CLICK HERE to view FP2 results.

Alex Lowes continued to hold sway at the top of the MCE British Superbike Championship timesheets at Thruxton, but it was second place man PJ Jacobsen that arguably stole the headlines at the end of FP2.

Having paced a damp FP1, Lowes was once again in commanding form in the dry as he lapped in an impressive 1min 16.412secs aboard the Samsung Honda, evoking memories of his first BSB pole position with MSS Colchester Kawasaki back in 2011.

Perhaps more surprising however was the man at the other side of Lowes's comfortable three tenth margin as American rookie Jacobsen lifted himself to an eye-catching second on his first visit to the high-speed Hampshire circuit.

Quicker than early series leader Shane Byrne, Jacobsen was also four tenths up on Tyco Suzuki team-mate Josh Brookes in fourth position.

After a trying first round at Brands Hatch, Jakub Smrz was back on the pace aboard the Padgetts Honda in fifth position, ahead of Michael Rutter, the BSB veteran showing well after struggling with his recently healed leg during last weekend's opener.

Another BSB rookie showing well was Josh Waters in seventh place, ahead of Chris Walker and Buildbase BMW duo Jon Kirkham and James Westmoreland.

Elsewhere, Ryuichi Kiyonari found himself in a lowly 16th position, just one position ahead of James Ellison, the Brands Hatch race winner returning to the Thruxton circuit for the first time since 2010 when he broke his leg in a high-speed accident.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alex Lowes - Samsung Honda [pic credit: Honda UK]
Alex Lowes - Samsung Honda [pic credit: Honda UK]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki, BSB [Credit: MSV Media]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki, BSB [Credit: MSV Media]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Thruxton Circuit, [Credit: BARC Media]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB media]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
Tyco BMW bikes, Motorcycle Live [Credit: TAS Racing]
David Giugliano, Tyco BMW [Credit: MSV]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

rod99 - Unregistered

April 12, 2013 7:46 PM

If you remember I came on here a long time ago and said Jackobson is the mot exiting future world champion around at the moment. You can't do what he has done if you are not very special. Its not the same as AMA here to win a Supersport race and a Supertock race is a major achievement for the most estabished rider let alone a 19 year old kid thousands of miles from home experiencing the bike's, classes and tracks at SB level for the first time!! Someone American needs to get behind this gu.. He's their best hope of being their next Motogp champion.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.