BSB Knockhill: Lowes heads Kiyonari in Samsung 1-2

Alex Lowes leads Samsung team-mate Ryuichi Kiyonari in FP1 at Knockhill, while Peter Hickman makes it a Honda 1-2-3.
CLICK HERE to view FP1 results.

Alex Lowes has opened up the fourth round of the 2013 MCE British Superbike Championship at Knockhill with the fastest time in FP1, the Samsung Honda rider leading team-mate Ryuichi Kiyonari.

With the BSB field back in action following a break of more than a month, new series leader Lowes picked up from where he left off at Oulton Park to emerge as the only rider to lap below 49secs around the Scottish circuit.

That was enough to put a comfortable three tenths between himself and team-mate Kiyonari, the three-time champion showing an upturn in form having struggled for competitiveness on his return to the series so far this year.

Peter Hickman made it a Honda 1-2-3 by getting his Lloyds British GBmoto machine into third place, with title contender Shane Byrne following in fourth aboard the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki.

James Westmoreland led the BMW charge in fifth position, ahead of Dan Linfoot on the second of the Lloyds British GBmoto Hondas, the 24-year-old returning to action this weekend after breaking his leg in an accident at Brands Hatch back in April.

Fresh from his Isle of Man TT outing, Josh Brookes was up to speed again in seventh, while his team-mate PJ Jacobsen found himself lodged in a Bathams Honda sandwich in ninth, the American flanked by Tommy Bridewell in eighth and Michael Rutter in tenth.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alex Lowes, Samsung Honda
Alex Lowes Samsung Honda - Ian Hopgood Photography
Alex Lowes Samsung Honda - Ian Hopgood Photography
Josh Brookes
James Ellison on the Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki
Buildbase BMW`S Ryuichi Kiyonari at Brands Hatch
Stuart Easton - Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Ryuichi Kiyonari - Buildbase BMW [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Byrne, Brookes, Ellison podium [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Patric Muff - Bathams BMW [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Costello - Halsall Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes - Milwaukee Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Chris Walker [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins - Tyco Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot - Quatto Plant Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Chris Walker - GBmoto Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.