CLICK HERE to view qualifying results

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane 'Shakey' Byrne snatched pole position for tomorrow's opening race at the fourth round of the MCE British Superbike Championship at Knockhill by 0.010s from Josh Brookes.

Byrne dipped under the lap record for the Scottish track to edge Tyco Suzuki's Brookes for the top spot, with Samsung Honda's Alex Lowes nudged back to third.

Related Articles

Lowes had hit the front with a lap time of 48.649s in the closing stages of Q3, but defending champion Byrne dug deep to grab the number one position on the grid on his ZX-10R with a time of 48.333s.

Brookes was desperately close in second place with an equally impressive time of 48.343s as he, too, went under Byrne's lap record of 48.474s set back in 2006.

Jon Kirkham on the Buildbase BMW, Ryuichi Kiyonari on the second of the Samsung Honda machines and series rookie PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) completed the top six.

James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW), Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki), Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) and Chris Walker on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki were the first ten.

Hickman fell in Q2 at Scotsman, bringing out the red flags, and his team worked hard to ensure he was ready to stake his claim in Q3.

Robbin Harms was also a faller in Q2 at Leslies, escaping unhurt.

Byrne topped the times in Q2, with riders missing the cut including Tommy Bridewell, Dan Linfoot, James Ellison Jakub Smrz, Michael Rutter, Matteo Baiocco and Harms.

Brookes headed Q1 from Lowes, Byrne and Kiyonari, when Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Waters plus Danny Buchan on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki among those riders who failed to progress.