Oulton Park BSB: Lowes clings onto pole despite late fall

Samsung Honda's Alex Lowes will start this afternoon's opening MCE British Superbike race at Oulton Park on pole position despite sliding out moments before the end of Q3
Alex Lowes will start this afternoon's opening race of the triple-header MCE British Superbike weekend in pole position at Oulton Park despite a late fall in the final Superpole qualifying session.

Lowes appeared to lose the front end of his Samsung Honda at Shell Oils moments after setting the fastest time of 1m 35.119s to usurp Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane 'Shakey' Byrne.

Luckily, the Honda man escaped unscathed and Lowes clung on to pole by fractions of a second from Byrne, who managed a best time of 1m 35.193s on his Kawasaki ZX-10R.

Byrne had held the number one position with three minutes remaining until Lowes found something extra on his Fireblade to pip the three-time BSB champion.

The surprise package of the afternoon was championship rookie PJ Jacobsen on the Tyco Suzuki, who rode magnificently to seal a front row start on the GSX-R1000 in third position.

Jacobsen produced a stunning 1m 35.388s lap to finish ahead of Milwaukee Yamaha's James Ellison, who claimed the final place on the front row ahead of Josh Brookes on the second Tyco Suzuki.

Tommy Bridewell gave his new Halsall Racing Kawasaki team its best qualifying result of the season in sixth.

Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) and Dan Linfoot (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) complete the second row, with Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) and James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) rounding out the top ten on row three.

Samsung Honda's Ryuichi Kiyonari failed to make it into Q3 and the Japanese rider will start from a lowly 17th place after running inside the top eight throughout free practice.

Chris Walker on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki, Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda), PR Kawasaki's Karl Harris, Josh Waters on the second Milwaukee Yamaha, Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda), and Matteo Baiocco on the Team Rapido Sport Ducati Panigale were also eliminated from Superpole after Q2.

CLICK HERE to view qualifying results

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alex Lowes, Samsung Honda
Rob Winfield, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Bonnie Lane]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB media]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
From Diggers to Ducatis
Tyco BMW bikes, Motorcycle Live [Credit: TAS Racing]
David Giugliano, Tyco BMW [Credit: MSV]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: MSV Media]
JG Speedfit Bournemouth Kawasaki livery, 2017, BSB
Hawk Racing Suzuki, BSB [Credit: BSB media]
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.