CLICK HERE to view full Qualifying results

Alex Lowes will start from pole position for the eighth round of the 2013 MCE British Superbike Championship at Cadwell Park after utterly dominating qualifying from start-to-finish.

Coming into the session as the firm favourite for the top spot after leading FP3 by more than four tenths, Lowes carried that form into qualifying to top Q1 and Q2 before circulating the Cadwell circuit in 1min 26.708secs on his first flying run of Q3.

Related Articles

That was enough to put the Samsung Honda rider more than six tenths ahead of key title rival Shane Byrne and more than a second faster than anyone else.

The peerless performance puts him in a good position to pick up critical podium credits ahead of the impending Title Showdown, though he will have Byrne for close company in second position, while James Ellison will also get away from the front row in third.

Behind them, PJ Jacobsen and Tommy Bridewell gave their hopes of producing a late challenge for a Title Showdown spot a boost by qualifying in fourth and fifth respectively, the pair ending up ahead of Ryuichi Kiyonari and Josh Brookes, the latter left in seventh after suffering a tumble on his final run.

Another rider with a shot of making the Title Showdown, Keith Farmer will start in eighth position aboard the second of the Rapid Solicitors Kawasakis, while Peter Hickman and Chris Walker rounded out the top ten.

Elsewhere, Jon Kirkham - who currently holds sixth in the standings ahead of Buildbase BMW team-mate James Westmoreland by nine points - will start down in 18th after crashing at Park during Q1.

Even so, Westmoreland didn't fare significantly better, missing the Q3 cut by 0.003secs to qualify in 11th place, ahead of Dan Linfoot, Josh Waters and Michael Rutter.

There were also tumbles for Matteo Baiocco and Jenny Tinmouth, the pair failing to make it past the Q1 stage as a result.