Samsung Honda's Alex Lowes will start tomorrow's penultimate round of the MCE British Superbike Championship at Silverstone in the number one spot after securing his seventh pole of the season.

There was drama in Q2 as Showdown contender James Ellison crashed at the Loop and failed to progress to the final qualifying session.

Ellison, who had led the way in free practice, will start from a lowly 18th place on the grid as a result.

Related Articles

Lowes, who is only one point behind Shane 'Shakey' Byrne, set a record lap in a time of 2m 05.724s to head his Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki title rival, who lapped in 2m 06.728s - 0.554s slower than the Honda challenger.

Byrne, though, was feeling a little second hand following a big high-side in free practice on the ZX-10R and will no doubt be more than satisfied with a front row start.

Tyco Suzuki's PJ Jacobsen outgunned team-mate Josh Brookes to clinch a superb third place on the front row, 0.596s behind Lowes.

Brookes was followed by Buildbase BMW's Jon Kirkham in fifth, with the top six completed by Peter Hickman on the Lloyds British GBmoto Honda.

Matteo Baiocco was seventh on the Rapido Sport Ducati followed by Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha), James Westmoreland on the Buildbase BMW and Jakub Smrz (Padgett's Honda).

Japan's Noriyuki Haga was 11th fastest on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki.

In Q2, Jon Kirkham and PJ Jacobsen were the early leaders before Lowes took over, ending the session on top from Jacobsen, Brookes and Matteo Baiocco.

Kirkham and Westmoreland completed the top six followed by Bridewell, Hickman, Smrz and Byrne.

Along with Ellison, riders who were ruled out of Q3 included Michael Rutter, Dan Linfoot, Noriyuki Haga, Josh Waters, Karl Harris and Lee Costello.

In Q1, Lowes topped the times from Tyco Suzuki pair Jacobsen and Brookes with Byrne third ahead of Ellison.

Jenny Tinmouth crashed unhurt at Stowe and was among those competitors who failed to progress to Q2, including Freddie Foray on the Samsung Honda, Martin Jessopp, Danny De Boer, Barry Burrell, Aaron Zanotti, Howie Mainwaring, Jamie Poole and Stefan Capella.

CLICK HERE to view full qualifying times