Silverstone BSB: Lowes on pole for penultimate Showdown round

Alex Lowes secured his seventh pole position start at Silverstone on the Samsung Honda, taking the top spot from MCE British Superbike title rival Shane 'Shakey' Byrne
Samsung Honda's Alex Lowes will start tomorrow's penultimate round of the MCE British Superbike Championship at Silverstone in the number one spot after securing his seventh pole of the season.

There was drama in Q2 as Showdown contender James Ellison crashed at the Loop and failed to progress to the final qualifying session.

Ellison, who had led the way in free practice, will start from a lowly 18th place on the grid as a result.

Lowes, who is only one point behind Shane 'Shakey' Byrne, set a record lap in a time of 2m 05.724s to head his Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki title rival, who lapped in 2m 06.728s – 0.554s slower than the Honda challenger.

Byrne, though, was feeling a little second hand following a big high-side in free practice on the ZX-10R and will no doubt be more than satisfied with a front row start.

Tyco Suzuki's PJ Jacobsen outgunned team-mate Josh Brookes to clinch a superb third place on the front row, 0.596s behind Lowes.

Brookes was followed by Buildbase BMW's Jon Kirkham in fifth, with the top six completed by Peter Hickman on the Lloyds British GBmoto Honda.

Matteo Baiocco was seventh on the Rapido Sport Ducati followed by Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha), James Westmoreland on the Buildbase BMW and Jakub Smrz (Padgett's Honda).

Japan's Noriyuki Haga was 11th fastest on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki.

In Q2, Jon Kirkham and PJ Jacobsen were the early leaders before Lowes took over, ending the session on top from Jacobsen, Brookes and Matteo Baiocco.

Kirkham and Westmoreland completed the top six followed by Bridewell, Hickman, Smrz and Byrne.

Along with Ellison, riders who were ruled out of Q3 included Michael Rutter, Dan Linfoot, Noriyuki Haga, Josh Waters, Karl Harris and Lee Costello.

In Q1, Lowes topped the times from Tyco Suzuki pair Jacobsen and Brookes with Byrne third ahead of Ellison.

Jenny Tinmouth crashed unhurt at Stowe and was among those competitors who failed to progress to Q2, including Freddie Foray on the Samsung Honda, Martin Jessopp, Danny De Boer, Barry Burrell, Aaron Zanotti, Howie Mainwaring, Jamie Poole and Stefan Capella.

CLICK HERE to view full qualifying times

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alex Lowes Samsung Honda - picture credit
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Smiths BMW [Credit:]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit:]
James Ellison, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
James Ellison, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.