Brands Hatch BSB: Victory for Brookes as Lowes take title lead

Josh Brookes reigns in greasy conditions at Brands Hatch as Alex Lowes takes MCE British Superbike Championship lead with strong ride to second place ahead of key rival Shane Byrne
Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes took the honours in tricky conditions in the opening race at Brands Hatch as Alex Lowes moved to the top of the MCE British Superbike Championship courtesy of a gritty ride to second place.

Brookes broke clear in the early stages of the race and although Samsung Honda rider Lowes began to close on the last lap, the Australian followed up his pole position with a calculated victory on the GSXR-1000 to take the win by 0.968s after 18 laps.

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane 'Shakey' Byrne claimed the final pace on the rostrum but lost the title lead to Lowes, who now has three points in hand ahead of tomorrow's final two races.

Josh Waters claimed his best finish in the series with fourth place on the Halsall Racing Kawasaki, with PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) and the hard-charging Tommy Bridewell on the Milwaukee Yamaha completing the top six.

On a greasy track, Byrne powered into the lead from the start but was quickly overhauled by Brookes and Lee Costello, with Lowes fourth.

Brookes eased away from the field, with Lowes passing Costello to move into third behind Byrne.

The top three soon opened a huge gap at the front, as Waters overhauled his team-mate to move into fourth.

Brookes' lead at half-distance was more than three seconds from Byrne, who was now falling into the clutches of a determined Lowes.

With a dry line beginning to appear around the circuit, Lowes began to have a look at Byrne and finally made his move on lap 14 at Graham Hill Bend.

Byrne had no answer to the pace of his title adversary and settled for a safe third place, while Lowes set about reeling in Brookes.

The Honda rider set his fastest lap of the race as he reduced the deficit to the long-time leader to around one second, but in the end he ran out of time and Brookes closed out the victory.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Brookes Tyco Suzuki - picture credit Ian Hopgood Photography
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.