2014 British Superbike entry list so far

The title-winning Honda team may be absent from the 2014 British Superbike line-up, but there is still much to look forward to next year...
It's been a week of positives and negatives for the British Superbike Championship, but while defending champion Honda's decision to withdraw from the series remains an inescapable blow, the 2014 grid looks strong with four months to go before the Brands Hatch curtain raiser.

Stung by Samsung's decision to withdraw its title backing after two years and left with few convincing rider options befitting of a championship-winning bike, while Honda's move is certainly disappointing, its absence doesn't quite diminish what already looks a convincing grid ahead of Christmas.

Of course, prior to Honda's announcement, Paul Bird Motorsport reaffirmed its commitment to BSB – having raised some doubts towards the end of the 2013 season – with its 2012 champion Shane Byrne and Stuart Easton teaming up once again in what will undoubtedly be the team to beat in Honda's absence.

It brings the number of confirmed entries to 17, with all-but-two of the top 15 from 2013 having secured rides for 2014 (assuming new champion Lowes is WSBK-bound with Suzuki)

Perhaps the most significant statistic as it stands, however, is the dominance of Kawasaki as the preferred option for teams. Currently, of those 17 entries, there are two Yamahas, two Suzukis, one Ducati, one BMW, not a single Honda and 11 Kawasakis. It's quite the turnaround for a manufacturer that struggled for podiums as recently as 2011…

That said, Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki's biggest rivals are still likely to come from elsewhere, particularly Tyco Suzuki, who welcome back fan favourite and 2011 runner-up John Hopkins following his injury-determined hiatus, while Milwaukee Yamaha have lured an exciting pairing in Tommy Bridewell and Josh Brookes.

Elsewhere, Title Showdown contender James Westmoreland will continue pedalling the Buildbase BMW and Jakub Smrz reunited with Ducati on the Millsport-backed machine.

However, they face a year battling through the Kawasaki masses with entries from Quattro Plant, GBmoto, Gearlink, Tsingtao WK, TAG Racing, Morello Services PBR and SBK City Racing bolstering the ranks.

Current 2014 British Superbike entry list

3. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha
4. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki
5. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
9. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki
10. Jon Kirkham GBR Tsingtao WK Kawasaki
12. Josh Waters AUS Tyco Suzuki
15. Ben Wilson GBR Gearlink Kawasaki
21. John Hopkins USA Tyco Suzuki
27. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW
43. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki
45. Rhalf Lo Turco BRZ SBK City Racing Kawasaki
46. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha
47. Richard Cooper GBR TAG Kawasaki
55. Peter Baker GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki
67. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
77. James Ellison GBR GBmoto Kawasaki
96. Jakub Smrz CZE Millsport Ducati

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The Podium - picture credit
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - picture credit
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - picture credit
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - picture credit
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - picture credit
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 14, 2013 3:40 PM

Maybe Honda are concentrating their efforts (and money) too much in MotoGP. This said, BSB can be quite successful without them and I cant wait for the 2014 BSB season! Good luck to all involved.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.