Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2013: 7. Chris Walker
Nationality: British Team: Quattro Plant Kawasaki Bike: Kawasaki ZX-10R Wins: 0 Podiums: 0 Championship points: 168 Championship position: 10th

A perennial fan favourite, few could imagine a British Superbike grid without Chris Walker and while the 41-year-old may now be more than double the age of some of the riders he is dicing with, there is little doubt that he remains a reckoned force at this level.

Granted, whilst there would be no repeat of the headline-grabbing that came with his first win in more than a decade last season, there is an argument to suggest that the 2013 season was arguably Walker's most convincing for some years, his unwavering consistency extolling the virtues of his experience in a competitive field.

Related Articles

Sticking with the same Peter Extance-helmed Kawasaki team, now competing under the Quattro Plant banner, Walker started the season with an eye on reaching the 'Title Showdown', an endeavour he began in earnest with a series of top six finishes during the opening rounds.

However, a run of poor fortune at a critical point in the year - four DNFs in six races - would leave Walker on a back foot he couldn't recover from, even if it's worth noting that he remained mathematically within range of the top six all the way to Donington Park.

In the end, Walker would slip back to tenth in the final standings but his eight top six finishes were actually his strongest tally of results since 2007, when he was a factory Suzuki rider. By comparison, Walker may have finished one position higher overall in 2012, but he only cracked the top six on two occasions.

With this in mind, even beyond his popularity, a BSB grid without an always-competitive Walker would be a travesty... it's just as well then that he will enter into his 12th season in the series next year with a move to GBmoto Kawasaki.

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2012: 6th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011: 12th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2010: 11th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2009: 13th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2008: N/A

Top 10 WSBK Rider of the Year 2013:

8. James Westmoreland 9. Jon Kirkham 10. Dan Linfoot

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...