Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2013: 4. Josh Brookes

Nationality: Australian Team: Tyco Suzuki Bike: Suzuki GSX-R1000 Wins: 5 Podiums: 15 Championship points: 621 Championship position: 3rd

Coming closer than ever to snatching the British Superbike crown in 2012, Josh Brookes began 2013 with a view to finally going one better to secure the title that has so far eluded him in five seasons of BSB competition.

Related Articles

Having developed a successful tact of unwavering consistency (words not often levelled at Brookes in his BSB tenure prior to 2012) by gracing the podium in 24 of 26 races, the Australian set about complementing this with more frequent trips to the top step of the rostrum in 2013.

However, despite his best efforts on the Tyco Suzuki, while Brookes was once again rarely outside the top trio, he often found Alex Lowes and Shane Byrne gazing down at him from the higher step.

Nonetheless, even though Lowes and Byrne were racking up the wins between themselves in the first part of the season, Brookes's steadfast avoidance of the retirement list would ensure he remained very much within range of the overall top spot, even before he finally secured a maiden victory of the year during round six at Brands Hatch.

A second success at Oulton Park urged him closer to an early Title Showdown spot, though it would be tempered by a crash on the final lap at Cadwell Park moments after snatching the lead of the race.

His first DNF since 2011 - ending a run of 43 consecutive points' finishes -, tellingly Brookes's season would begin to unravel from this point, a lacklustre round at Donington Park, where he failed to reach the podium all weekend for the first time since Knockhill 2012, preluding a terrible opening to the Title Showdown at Assen when he suffered another costly crash.

With a similarly frustrating round during the penultimate event of the season at Silverstone all but snuffing out his title challenge, Brookes would head into the season finale knowing his quest for that elusive BSB title will have to continue into a sixth season.

With a move to Milwaukee Yamaha pending, Brookes at least got the chance to end his tenure at Suzuki with a final flourish with a truly dominant weekend at Brands Hatch that saw him pick up a trio of wins in varying conditions.

With this in mind, while the title tussle between Lowes and Byrne behind may have consumed the air-time, if the old adage of 'only as good as your last race' proves true, Brookes has much to be excited for in 2014...

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2012: 3rd Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011: 8th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2010: 4th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2009: 11th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2008: N/A

Top 10 WSBK Rider of the Year 2013: 5. James Ellison 6. PJ Jacobsen 7. Chris Walker 8. James Westmoreland 9. Jon Kirkham 10. Dan Linfoot

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...