The MCE British Superbike Championship came right down to the wire in 2013 with Alex Lowes famously getting the nod over Shane Byrne - it's a result that is also reflected in our annual BSB Rider of the Year vote.

Indeed, you have mirrored the final BSB results by voting in Lowes as your esteemed winner here with an excellent 9.1 out of ten average, even if he was only marginally ahead of his arch-rival Byrne, whose efforts were recognised with an almost as impressive 8.9.

In a high quality year of racing, while Tommy Bridewell might have missed out on the Title Showdown, his strong end to the season is seen by you voting him into third position, ahead of Josh Brookes, James Ellison and standout rookie performer PJ Jacobsen.

Fan favourite Chris Walker makes the top ten again in seventh place, ahead of Title Showdown contender James Westmoreland and Jon Kirkham, while Dan Linfoot rounds out the top ten.

Making up the best of the rest, Lee Costello just missed out on your top ten, the rookie edging out Howie Mainwaring and Peter Hickman in your reckoning, while Title Showdown contender and former champion Ryuichi Kiyonari brings up the rear in what looks set to be his final season as a Honda rider.

2013 BSB Rider of the Year: Full Results

1. Alex Lowes GBR Samsung Honda 9.19 2. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 8.86 3. Tommy Bridewell GBR Bathams Honda/Halsall Kawasaki/Milwaukee Yamaha 7.85 4. Josh Brookes AUS Tyco Suzuki 7.45 5. James Ellison GBR Milwaukee Yamaha 6.64 6. PJ Jacobsen USA Tyco Suzuki 6.41 7. Chris Walker GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki 6.11 8. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW 5.69 9. Jon Kirkham GBR Buildbase BMW 5.45 10. Dan Linfoot GBR GBmoto Hinda 4.86

11. Lee Costello GBR Halsall Kawasaki 5.73
12. Howie Mainwaring GBR MH Kawasaki/Tsingtao Kawasaki 4.57
13. Peter Hickman GBR GBmoto Honda 4.45
14. Josh Waters AUS Milwaukee Yamaha 4.41
15. Keith Farmer GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 4.40
16. Jakub Smrz CZE Padgetts Honda 4.20
17. Matteo Baiocco ITA Moto Rapido Ducati 4.09
18. Michael Rutter GBR Bathams Honda 4.00
19. Karl Harris GBR PR Kawasaki 3.63
20. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Samsung Honda 3.39


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment