30 bikes confirmed for BSB 2014

Shane Byrne heads up a substantial list of 30 riders that will compete in the 2014 BSB champion, 16 of which will ride for Kawasaki.
A total of 30 full-time entries across eight nationalities have been logged for the MCE British Superbike Championship in 2014, it has been confirmed.

Announced on the first day of official pre-season testing at Donington Park – three weeks before the season gets underway at Brands Hatch -, the entry list features a typical blend of experience and youth, with eight nationalities and six manufacturers represented.

Though the Honda Racing UK team, which won the title in 2013 with Alex Lowes, has limited its involvement to a handful of wild-card entries in 2014, perennial front runners Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki, Milwaukee Yamaha and Tyco Suzuki head up the entry list, each with revised rider line-ups.

Three-time champion Shane Byrne will target a record-breaking fourth BSB title once more with Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki, the veteran being joined by defending British Supersport Champion Stuart Easton, who returns to both PBM and BSB in 2014.

Milwaukee Yamaha have lured Josh Brookes from Suzuki and paired him with Tommy Bridewell, the Devizes rider having impressed in guest outings towards the end of 2013.

Tyco Suzuki, meanwhile, welcomes back 2011 BSB runner-up and fan favourite John Hopkins to BSB following his lengthy sabbatical through injury. He is joined by Australian Josh Waters.

Of the 30 riders, a mammoth 16 will ride the Kawasaki ZX-10R, with Rapid Solicitors, PR Racing, Quattro Plant and Halsall Racing being joined by graduates Gearlink, WD-40 and TAG, as well as GBmoto – switching from Honda – and newcomers SBK City Racing and Morello Services.

BMW, meanwhile, will also have a healthy presence with Buildbase bikes for high profile signing Ryuichi Kiyonari and James Westmoreland – as well as Michael Dunlop at selected events -, while Bathams is another to switch from Honda with Patric Muff and Michael Rutter.

Indeed, with the defending champions gone, Honda's presence is limited to the RAF Reserves bike for the returning Simon Andrews and a TWR CBR1000RR for Jenny Tinmouth.

Meanwhile, Ian Hutchinson will ride a Yamaha YZF-R1 for new, SMR-backed outfit FFX Racing, Aaron Zanotti pilots a privateer Suzuki, while Jakub Smrz will be the only Ducati 1199 Panigale R rider for Millsport.

2014 MCE British Superbike Championship entry list:

3. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1
4. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki ZX-10R
5. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki ZX-10R
6. Simon Andrews GBR RAF Reserves Honda CBR1000RR
7. Barry Burrell GBR WD-40 Kawasaki ZX-10R
8. Ian Hutchinson GBR FXX Yamaha YZF-R1
9. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki ZX-10R
10. Jon Kirkham GBR Tsingtao WK Kawasaki ZX-10R
11. Michael Rutter GBR Bathams BMW S1000RR
12. Josh Waters AUS Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki ZX-10R
15. Ben Wilson GBR Gearlink Kawasaki ZX-10R
20. Jenny Tinmouth GBR TWR Honda CBR1000RR
21. John Hopkins USA Tyco Suzuki GSX-R1000
23. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Buildbase BMW S1000RR
24. Patric Muff SUI Bathams BMW S1000RR
27. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW S1000RR
35. Mitchell Carr AUS Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki ZX-10R
39. Lee Costello GBR Halsall Kawasaki ZX-10R
40. Martin Jessopp GBR BMW S1000RR
43. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki ZX-10R
45. Rhalf Lo Turco BRA SBK City Kawasaki ZX-10R
46. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1
47. Richard Cooper GBR Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki ZX-10R
50. Harry Hartley GBR Halsall Kawasaki ZX-10R
55. Peter Baker GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki ZX-10R
64. Aaron Zanotti GBR GGH/STEL Suzuki GSX-R1000
67. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki ZX-10R
77. James Ellison GBR GBmoto Kawasaki ZX-10R
96. Jakub Smrz CZE Milsport Ducati 1199 Panigale R
303. Keith Farmer GBR PR Kawasaki ZX-10R

33. Michael Dunlop GBR Buildbase BMW S1000RR *
86. Julien Da Costa FRA Honda Racing CBR1000RR *

* Selected rounds only

Tagged as: Honda , Yamaha , Kawasaki , Ducati , Suzuki , BMW

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Rutter, Patric Muff - Bathams BMW
P&H Race Team
Shane Byrne on teh Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki at Almeria
James Ellison - Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


April 04, 2014 11:00 AM

The average age of the 30 permanent riders is 31. There are 21 Brits and the average age is 32, oldest being 55 and youngest 17. No wonder we struggle to make MotoGP riders when there is no injection of youth, we have good WSBK riders as they develop too late to go in GP's and have ridden super bikes for long term. The ACU need to change the regulations so we have more Alex Lowes - 22-year-old champions and also riders who can afford to fund themselves racing such as it is in Australia.


April 03, 2014 10:22 PM

LLarry: It's a real shame that variety of machinery is being compromised by the dumbed-down rules in BSB. So many Kawasaki's. Two Hondas. Two Yamaha's. One Ducati. A couple of BMW's and Suzuki's. Shouldn't be this way.
At least in BSB these are independent teams, and they can choose to run the bikes they want to run. Within the series rules, Kawa have won the Mfr battle to produce the best base machine, evidenced by its popularity. Whats wrong with that? Far better than like MotoGP where there is little or no choice of machine, and what there is is regulated more by the Mfrs than by teams, and they can limit what you can do with it.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.