Brands Hatch Indy BSB: Byrne, Brookes clear in FP1

Shane Byrne and Josh Brookes put air between themselves and their rivals around the short Brands Hatch Indy circuit in FP1.
CLICK HERE for BSB FP1 results

Shane Byrne and Josh Brookes maintained their scintillating pace at Brands Hatch as the opening round of the 2014 MCE British Superbike Championship officially got underway.

Having topped the timesheets during free testing yesterday, Byrne was quicker still as he stopped the clock at 45.576secs, just under two tenths up on Milwaukee Yamaha's new recruit Josh Brookes.

The only two riders to break 46secs, though the remaining competition was closely packed, they remained four and three tenths adrift of the pace setters respectively.

Continuing his positive start to his new career as a BMW rider, Ryuichi Kiyonari was third fastest for Buildbase, while Chris Walker was once again firmly rooted inside the top five, the BSB veteran turning in the fourth best lap.

Dan Linfoot rounded out the top five on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki, ahead of sole Ducati representative Jakub Smrz on the Millsport machine, while Stuart Easton, James Ellison, James Westmoreland and, impessively, Martin Jessopp concluded the top ten positions.

Elsewhere, Tommy Bridewell was 11th best, with John Hopkins in 13th place, while TT stars Ian Hutchinson and Michael Dunlop ended FP1 20th and 25th out of the 32 riders.

Tagged as: Byrne , Brookes

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne - Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
Shane Byrne-Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki[pic credit: Freeze-Frame Photography]
Shane Byrne-Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki [pic credit: Freeze-Frame Photography]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.