Oulton Park: Brookes: It's a great feeling to win

Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Brookes thrilled with first MCE British Superbike win of season at Oulton Park
Josh Brookes had to fight tooth and nail to secure his first MCE British Superbike victory in the Milwaukee Yamaha colours at Oulton Park.

The Australian rider was under intense pressure in race two from Shane 'Shakey' Byrne on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki, who beat Brookes to the victory in the opener at the Cheshire track.

Brookes, though, managed to keep a cool head as he avoided making any mistakes to secure his first win of the season, halting Byrne's run of three successive victories.

He also set a new lap record in race one, finally breaking Ryuichi Kiyonari's previous benchmark from 2006.

“I am delighted with how we have finished today with the win. In the first race I didn't get a great start and then we had the safety car and that always breaks my rhythm even though it was on the first lap,” he said.

“As the race went on I was more confident; unfortunately it wasn't enough to catch 'Shakey' but we changed that in race two.

“It is a great feeling to win and what we all push so hard to achieve, so to get it is quite rewarding but it was so difficult,” he added.

“There is always a dogfight in BSB to get the result so I tried not to make mistakes and set my pace quite strong and consistent. In the early laps Shane got passed me and I thought 'I can't let him get into that robotic stage where he's in the zone' so I pulled a really cool, aggressive move to get back ahead.

“I had some really big slides and moments at the end of the race and I thought 'come on let's just keep it all together and bring it home' so I was really pleased to finally see that chequered flag waving.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Brookes and Shane Byrne in action at Oulton Park
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.