Snetterton 300: Byrne fends off Brookes for Snetterton win

Shane Byrne claims another win for the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki team, ahead of Josh Brookes and James Ellison.
CLICK HERE for BSB Race Results

Shane Byrne has extended his lead in the MCE British Superbike Championship standings after claiming a fourth win from five starts in the first race at Snetterton.

The British rider withstood pressure from Josh Brookes and James Ellison throughout the race at a scorching Snetterton, the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki man holding all the way to the chequered flag when Brookes made a mistake whilst attempting to grab the lead at the death.

Instead, Byrne was free to complete a fourth win in five races so far this season, extending his advantage at the top of the standings, with Brookes – who held onto second place – consolidating second in the standings too.

Not quite close enough to snatch second place off Brookes at the end, Ellison made do with third place for his second BSB podium of the season after a feisty front-running ride, while Tommy Bridewell equalled his best finish of the season with a run to fourth.

A chaotic opening lap saw Jakub Smrz and Julien Da Costa fall out of the race, the pair coming down at Montreal, while James Westmoreland was also a high-placed tumbler.

As such, Ryuichi Kiyonari came through to finish in fifth place on the Buildbase BMW, resisting a hard charging Chris Walker, the BSB veteran storming up the order from 20th on the grid to finish in sixth.

Dan Linfoot and Patric Muff claimed their best results of the season in seventh and eighth, with John Hopkins and Josh Waters completing the top ten for Tyco

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne - Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.