Knockhill: Hickman returns to BSB with RAF Reserves Honda

Peter Hickman returns to the British Superbike Championship from Knockhill as part of the RAF Reserves Honda team.
The RAF Reserves Honda team will return to the MCE British Superbike Championship from round four at Knockhill after signing Peter Hickman for the remainder of the season.

The team stepped up to the BSB class in 2014 with the late Simon Andrews prior to his tragic death in an accident whilst riding a Superstock BMW on the North West 200 road race in May.

Skipping the third event of the year at Oulton Park, RAF Reserves Honda will be present in Scotland with Hickman riding the CBR1000RR, the experienced racer returning to the series having focused mostly on the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT this year.

Indeed, save for a one-off call-up to ride the Tsingtao Kawasaki at Snetterton, the deal marks Hickman's full-time return to the series having last competed with GBmoto Honda in 2013.

"I am really happy to be back in the championship as that is what I have been pushing for all season. I haven't really set myself and expectations as such because this is like the start of the season for me, but I know the Honda which is always a good place to start! I had some good results with Honda before, so I am really looking forward to getting on it this weekend and getting back into it again.

“Knockhill will be the first test for us but I like to be thrown in at the deep end; I am relaxed about the first races with the team and we are determined to crack on with the job."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Peter Hickman at the Isle of Man TT
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.