BSB Cadwell Park: Kiyonari sets early pace to head FP1

Buildbase BMW's Ryuichi Kiyonari tops FP1 at Cadwell Park by three tenths of a second from Shane Byrne as eighth round of MCE British Superbike Championship gets underway
CLICK HERE for BSB Cadwell Park FP1 results

Buildbase BMW star Ryuichi Kiyonari set the early pace during FP1 at the MCE British Sueprbike Bank Holiday meeting at Cadwell Park.

Kiyonari - a double winner at Oulton Park - posted the fastest time of 1m 28.098s on the S1000RR to head the way from Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane Byrne, who was three tenths of a second behind on the ZX-10R.

Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Brookes ended the session in third place, 0.731s down on Kiyonari, with Quattro Plant Kawasaki's Dan Linfoot in fourth.

Jon Kirkham (Halsall Kawasaki) and Chris Walker on the GBmoto Kawasaki completed the top six.

Aussie Brookes had headed the times in the early stages before Kiyonari clocked his benchmark lap to cement his place at the top of the FP1 leaderboard.

Byrne also displaced Brookes to slot into third position and the top three places remained stationery until the chequered flag.

James Ellison, back from injury on the GBmoto Kawasaki, finished in ninth place with a time of 1m 29.757s while Buildbase BMW's James Westmoreland finished one place behind in 11th (1m 29.779s) as he makes his return from a broken thumb sustained in a spill at Knockhill.

Peter Hickman on the RAF Reserves Honda was an impressive seventh (1m 29.271s) followed by Milwaukee Yamaha's Tommy Bridewell and Howie Mainwaring on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki.

The red flags came out when Christophe Ponsson came off at Coppice and was treated at the side of the track before confirmation emerged that he had escaped unhurt.

Millsport Ducati's Jakub Smrz was also off at the chicane and paid a precautionary visit to the medical centre.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryuichi Kiyonari Buildbase BMW Motorrad -
Shane Byrne wins Torrens Trophy
Joe Burns signs for Gearlink Kawasaki, alongside team boss Michael de Bidaph
Daniel Johnson - Morello Services Kawasaki
Daniel Johnson - Morello Services Kawasaki
James Westmoreland - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
Billy McConnell - Smiths Racing BMW
James Ellison - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
James Ellison - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
JG Speedfit Kawasaki
Jed Metcher - PR Kawasaki
Tommy Hill, Chris Walker, Danny Buchan
Honda confirms BSB return with Linfoot, O’Halloran
Honda UK announces Linfoot, O`Halloran for BSB 2015
Tommy Bridewell - Milwaukee Yamaha [pic credit:]
Shane Byrne, Ryuichi Kiyonari [pic credit: Gavan Caldwell]
Tommy Bridewell Milwaukee Yamaha -

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.