BSB Rider of the Year vote: 2nd – Shane Byrne

He won the 2014 British Superbike title but Shane Byrne lands second in your Rider of the Year poll
2nd – Shane Byrne
Average poll score out of ten: 8.5
Team: Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
Bike: Kawasaki ZX-10R
Wins: 10
Podiums: 23
Poles: 10
Fastest Laps: 6
Best Finish 1st
Championship points: 682
Championship position: 1st

When Shane Byrne won six of the opening eight races in the 2014 MCE British Superbike Championship, few are likely to have considered putting their money elsewhere for the title.

Stung by the loss of the 2013 BSB title to 'frenemy' Alex Lowes, Byrne returned to finish what he started this year, once more with the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki team, using the lessons learned from his thwarted bid for a record-breaking fourth career crown to ambush the competition from the start in 2014.

Considering his sprint out of the blocks, even the more steadfast cynics of the Title Showdown format were craving the opportunity for the title to remain open until the latter stages since Byrne quickly seemed well positioned to simply manage his advantage or extend it.

Indeed, though Byrne would endure something of a victory drought coming into the Title Showdown, he was off the podium just once in those 19 races, whilst his lead stood at a mammoth 107 points – an advantage that could have seen him wrap up the title nice and early under normal circumstances.

As it happens, those gains would translate to a rather scant 26 and 27 points over Josh Brookes and Ryuichi Kiyonari respectively ahead of the final three events but though the race winning momentum had swung the way of his rivals – particularly Kiyonari -, Byrne was still sitting relatively pretty.

Not that he made it easy for himself with a clumsy crash at Assen, but a return to winning ways in the following race and at Silverstone kept his nose ahead coming into the concluding round over Kiyonari. When his main rival eliminated himself from competition with a pre-race crash at Brands Hatch, the title was a foregone conclusion.

Ending the season with 10 wins and 23 podiums from 26 races, though Byrne's route to the title may have concluded more smoothly than many may have hoped for, no-one could dare use it to belittle the record-breaking achievements of a rider that is not only in his prime, but is seemingly capable of becoming even greater…

BSB Rider of the Year poll
3. Chris Walker
4. James Ellison
5. Tommy Bridewell
6. Dan Linfoot
7. Peter Hickman
8. Josh Waters
9. Josh Brookes
10. Howie Mainwaring

Shane Byrne in the BSB Rider of the Year poll
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2013: 2nd
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2012: 1st
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011: 3rd
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2010: N/A
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2009: N/A

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki -
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Smiths BMW [Credit:]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit:]
James Ellison, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
James Ellison, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 24, 2014 7:50 AM

I think that 1st could have gone to Shakey or Kiyo, they were both top performers, but voters in this poll recognized the fact that Kiyo pulled himself back from virtual retirement to almost winning the championship. Kiyo is a bit of a favourite in the UK and to see him come back from being given the boot by Honda to being a regular race winner with a team that had no experience of that was a bit of a fairy tale story. It also reminded people what a quality rider Kiyo is.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.