Click here for full BSB FP1 results from Cadwell Park

Josh Brookes has immediately picked up where he left off from at Thruxton by topping the timesheet during FP1 at Cadwell Park, fighting off a late challenge from Be Wiser Kawasaki's Danny Buchan.

The Milwaukee Yamaha rider claimed top spot midway through the session from Peter Hickman and looked comfortable until Buchan briefly topples Brookes with six minutes of the session remaining. The BSB championship leader was able to find another tenth of a second to reclaim top with Buchan second and local rider Hickman third.

Related Articles

Hickman, a BSB race winner at Cadwell in the wet last year, set the early pace during the opening shakedown on his RAF Reserves BMW until BSB championship leader Brookes became the first rider into the 1m 27s.

The majority of the BSB field used the session to get to grips with the undulating circuit and it took until the final six minutes until lap times started improve, with Brookes going faster by two-tenths. Buchan then jumped to the top of the timesheet by going fractionally faster but it was to be short-lived with Brookes setting the fastest time of the session with his penultimate lap, a 1m 27.622s.

Tyco BMW duo Tommy Bridewell and Michael Laverty followed closely in fourth and fifth respectively, demonstrating the progress made at last week's mid-season test at the Lincolnshire track.

Smiths Racing BMW's Billy McConnell was edged out of the top five as the chequered flag fell on FP1 but he was able to stay ahead of Luke Mossey, Christian Iddon and John Hopkins. Defending BSB champion Shane Byrne rounded out the top ten, eight-tenths off his main rival for the title Brookes.

Richard Cooper looked at home on the Buildbase BMW after switching from Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki post-Thruxton and lapped quicker than both of his new team-mates Ryuichi Kiyonari (14th) and Lee Jackson (17th).

The BSB grid has been left relatively depleted at the Lincolnshire circuit with Milwaukee Yamaha, PBM Kawasaki and JG Speedfit Kawasaki all reduced to running one rider due to injuries to Stuart Easton and James Ellison, while Broc Parkes is absent due to his World Endurance Championship commitments in Germany.