BSB Rider of the Year 2015 - 6th: Luke Mossey

Another name in the BSB Rider of the Year poll and yet another maiden campaigner, with this rookie picking up the BSB Riders' Cup at Brands Hatch.
BSB Rider of the Year: 6th

6th – Luke Mossey
Average poll score out of ten: 6.49
Team: Quattro Plant Kawasaki
Bike: Kawasaki ZX-10R
Wins: 0
Podiums: 2
Poles: 0
Fastest Laps: 0
Best Finish 3rd
Championship points: 168
Championship position: 7th

Quattro Plant Kawasaki's Luke Mossey produced a year of round-on-round improvements which culminated in him clinching the BSB Riders' Cup and taking the top rookie title.

In his first full season in the premier class, Mossey steadily got to grips with the Quattro Plant Kawasaki ZX-10R to eventually break into the top ten for the first time at round four at Snetterton.

The youngster produced remarkable consistency during the second half to campaign as a top ten challenger which were highlighted by two podium finishes at Thruxton and Assen respectively.

Despite missing out on the top six fight, Mossey regularly acted as a 'Showdown spoiler' in the final third of the season and heading into the final round the Cambridge-based rider duly swept up the BSB Riders' Cup. Even though the majority of his rivals missed the triple-header final at Brands Hatch through injury, including Stuart Easton, Jason O'Halloran and Richard Cooper, Mossey's sustained points finishes merited his seventh place in the final championship standings.

Luke Mossey in the BSB Rider of the Year poll
First time entry

Do you agree the poll results? If not, why not? Leave your comments below...

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Riders' British Championship standings, the BSB Rider of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results and scoring each of the top twenty from this year's BSB standings with a mark out of ten.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki BSB [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.