Byrne, Hopkins, Rispoli voice support for Transatlantic Trophy

Momentum is growing for a renewal of the Transatlantic Trophy between the best of Britain against the United States of America.
Momentum is growing for a renewal of the Transatlantic Trophy between the best of Britain against the United States of America, with MCE British Superbike riders John Hopkins, Shane Byrne and James Rispoli all adding their interest to the idea.

In recent months speculation of BSB collaborating with the MotoAmerica Superbike Championship has sparked up with the idea of reintroducing the Transatlantic Trophy. The races, which were last run in the 1980s, saw the top crop of riders from Britain and America compete against one another, including the likes of Barry Sheene, Kevin Schwantz, Paul Smart, Wayne Rainy and Ron Haslam.

In a conversation on Twitter between 2013 MotoAmerica Superbike champion Josh Herrin, Hopkins, Byrne and Rispoli, the riders touted the idea of which circuits on each side of the Atlantic would be most suitable.

Brands Hatch, which hosted races during the last Transatlantic Trophy, is a strong favourite for Britain's home venue while Laguna Seca, Salt Lake and Barber Motorsports Park in Alabama have all been touted as options in the US.

BSB Series and Race director Stuart Higgs also voiced his opinion by backing Barber Motorsports Park.

BSB currently collaborates with other international series, with the ADAC Northern Europe Cup running as a support series at two championship rounds – Silverstone and Assen – in 2016. The British series also hosted the KTM RC Cup World Final at Silverstone last October and continues to make an annual trip to Assen for a championship round.

What do you think of reintroducing the Transatlantic Trophy between Britain and America? Leave a comment below and let us know what circuits you would like to see used.

Tagged as: Byrne , Hopkins , Rispoli , motoamerica

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins, Jason O`Halloran, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
British Superbikes, class of 2017 photo, riders [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Richard Cooper, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


January 06, 2016 11:12 AM

I've thought this was a great idea for a few years now and I didn't even know it actually happened before. Road America, Road Atlanta, Laguna, Miller, Brands, Donington, or they could use a circuit outside of either series home range.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.