Laverty on top as BSB resumes with Snetterton test

Michael Laverty has ended the opening day of the MCE British Superbike in-season Snetterton test quickest, three-tenths off the outright lap record
Click here for BSB in-season testing results from Snetterton

Michael Laverty has ended the opening day of the MCE British Superbike in-season Snetterton test quickest with a lap less than three-tenths off the outright record at the Norfolk circuit.

The test marks the completion of BSB's mid-campaign break for the roads racing season with title contender Laverty notching up a late hot lap to take the headlines with a 1m 48.102s on the Tyco BMW.

The lap put a comfortable three-tenths gap on closest rival Luke Mossey on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki, while on the combined timesheet from the opening sessions Alastair Seeley claimed an overall third with his top time in the second session of 1m 48.525s.

Honda's Jason O'Halloran also impressed at a circuit he claimed two rostrum results at last season, finishing inside the top five overall with JG Speedfit Kawasaki's James Ellison and Tyco BMW's Christian Iddon in close company.

Tommy Bridewell, who topped the opening session of the test, also produced impressive pace with a fastest lap of 1m 49.141s on the Bennetts Suzuki in the third session ahead of ePayMe Yamaha's John Hopkins and Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati's Danny Buchan.

Despite missing out on the top times at the end of the first day, Richard Cooper once again demonstrated his consistent speed for Buildbase BMW before suffering a small off midway through the second session which he walked away from unhurt.

Also in the mix but failing to set a fast time in the final session were the top two in the BSB points standings Shane Byrne and Leon Haslam, while Jake Dixon made his Superbike debut testing for RAF Reserves BMW alongside Seeley.

Ex-World Superbike Josh Hook also acted as guest test rider for Team WD-40 Kawasaki on Sam Hornsey's former machine.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW [Credit:]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.