Knockhill: Byrne takes wet pole by 0.001s from O’Halloran

Shane Byrne has held on to pole position by just 0.001s to deny Jason O'Halloran a maiden BSB pole in a session punctuated by heavy rain.
Click here for full BSB qualifying results from Knockhill

Shane Byrne has held on to pole position by just 0.001s to deny Jason O'Halloran a maiden MCE British Superbike pole in a qualifying session temporarily suspended by a heavy rain shower.

Qualifying was suspended for an hour after a heavy rain shower between Q1 and Q2 made conditions unsafe to run until the standing water was cleared off the Scottish circuit.

As a result, the times failed to better the Q1 best laps and the session became a challenge of who could find the most grip and confidence on the slippery surface.

When the action resumed Byrne and Be Wiser Ducati looked by far the more promising package in the wet by topping the intermediate session from team-mate Glenn Irwin and Honda's O'Halloran.

In the pole shootout the four-time BSB champion immediately stormed on to provisional pole but the times continued to be chipped away as the track slowly dried.

With a 51.374s Byrne looked comfortable until O'Halloran closed right up but missed out on matching the Londoner by one-thousandth of a second.

Leon Haslam headed the best of the rest to complete the front row narrowly ahead of JG Speedfit Kawasaki team-mate Peter Hickman while Irwin completely an impressive qualifying performance to take fifth on the grid.

Despite the turn in conditions John Hopkins kept his battle at the front on the ePayMe Yamaha in sixth and ahead of the third row trio of Dan Linfoot, Richard Cooper and Danny Buchan.

The unlucky losers who missed out on the pole shootout were James Ellison in 10th and Michael Laverty in 11th with FP1's fastest rider Luke Mossey completing the fourth row.
by Haydn Cobb

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, BSB [Credit:]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.