Click here for full BSB qualifying results from Snetterton

Shane Byrne has blown away the competition on the debut of the Superpole qualifying format in the MCE British Superbike championship by taking pole position by over half a second from championship leader Leon Haslam.

The Be Wiser Ducati rider was the last of the nine runners for the Superpole shootout having topped Q2 and waited for his rivals to set the benchmark to beat. After Peter Hickman set the early pace he was trumped by JG Speedfit Kawasaki team-mate Haslam with a 1m 48.358s.

Related Articles

With neither of Honda Racing's Jason O'Halloran or Dan Linfoot bettering Haslam's time setting their laps after the Derbyshire rider it came down to the top two in the BSB standings for pole at Snetterton.

Byrne duly produced a flawless lap to take pole by over half a second with a blistering 1m 47.795s.

The top two have been joined by Linfoot on the front row as Friday practice topper O'Halloran was shuffled on to the front of the second row, just ahead of Hickman and Danny Buchan.

ePayMe Yamaha's Broc Parkes continued to impress on his BSB comeback as stand-in for the injured John Hopkins and starts from seventh ahead of Tyco BMW's Christian Iddon and Buildbase BMW's Richard Cooper who completed the Superpole contenders.

Earlier in qualifying it was heartbreak for third-fastest from free practice Luke Mossey before Q1 really began after a low-sided out at Oggies, while Ryuichi Kiyonari was also a noticeable casualty in the opening session.

In Q2 Michael Laverty suffered a frustrating off at the slow-speed Agostini corner which effectively ruled him out of the running as the pace crept up with Byrne setting the fastest lap of the weekend with a 1m 48.156s.

As Superpole commenced Hickman acted as provisional pole sitter from the opening riders as each of the top nine took their turn for a single flying lap.

Haslam displaced his JG Speedfit Kawasaki team-mate for provisional pole as the fourth to last rider to go but he was powerless to prevent four-time BSB champion Byrne from powering to a second consecutive pole position.