Thruxton: Byrne blasts ahead in FP1 shake-up

Shane Byrne has pulled out almost half a second advantage on nearest rival Christian Iddon in the opening free practice session at Thruxton.
Click here for full BSB FP1 results from Thruxton

Shane Byrne has pulled out almost half a second advantage on nearest rival Christian Iddon in the opening free practice session at Thruxton.

The Be Wiser Ducati rider has carried his momentum from his race two win at Snetterton, which also claimed him the MCE British Superbike championship lead, and has immediately produced impressive pace at the high-speed Thruxton track.

Having grabbed top spot early in the session, Byrne's best time of 1m 15.111s rarely looked troubled despite a flurry of late improvements from Iddon and Luke Mossey.

Iddon's charge on the Tyco BMW was somewhat thwarted with three minutes of the session remaining when he pulled up with a technical issue at Seagrave.

With Mossey taking third Buildbase BMW’s Lee Jackson impressed with fourth on the timesheet ahead of maiden race winner at the last round Jason O'Halloran.

Billy McConnell has continued to up the pace on the FS-3 Racing Kawasaki by taking sixth ahead of the second Buildbase BMW of Richard Cooper and double podium winner from Snetterton Dan Linfoot.

Local rider Tommy Bridewell has narrowly edged the recently-signed Jake Dixon on the RAF Reserves BMW who is adjusting to life in BSB incredibly fast having made his debut last month at Knockhill.

Notably the JG Speedfit Kawasaki trio were somewhat off the single-lap hot pace with James Ellison in P21, Peter Hickman P22 and Leon Haslam P24 – while three-time BSB champion Ryuichi Kiyonari languished in P27 on the Bennetts Suzuki.

ePayMe Yamaha's John Hopkins has been forced to sit out the Thruxton round on the advice of the medics having not sufficiently recovered from a broken and dislocated collarbone and broken ribs.
by Haydn Cobb

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, BSB [Credit:]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.