Click here for full BSB qualifying results from Thruxton

Shane Byrne has claimed his second consecutive Superpole after converting his dominant free practice pace despite not producing a flawless pole lap at Thruxton.

With the new Superpole format making its second appearance in the MCE British Superbike championship, Byrne blitzed his rivals in Q2 with a 1m 13.843s to dart under the outright lap record at the Hampshire track.

Related Articles

The lap enabled the Be Wiser Ducati rider to run last in the Superpole format, meaning he'd know the time to beat before starting his single flying lap, as Bennetts Suzuki's Tommy Bridewell set the provisional pole time of 1m 14.590s.

Despite not producing a flawless lap to better his Q2 time, Byrne had enough of a margin to claim pole position by almost three-tenths of a second ahead of Bridewell.

Honda Racing's Dan Linfoot has grabbed a front row start in third despite missing out to Bridewell by 0.004s with Luke Mossey, Michael Laverty and Lee Jackson forming the second row for race one at Thruxton.

Billy McConnell placed his FS-3 Racing Kawasaki at the head of row three as Lee Hardy Racing duo Alastair Seeley and Jake Dixon completing the Showdown contenders.

Further back BSB title contenders JG Speedfit Kawasaki saw its trio of riders continue to struggle at Thruxton with Peter Hickman narrowly missing out on Superpole in 10th while former BSB championship leader Leon Haslam was also eliminated in Q2 and will start race one from 15th.

The biggest name to drop out in Q1 was James Ellison - who will start from 23rd on the grid - while moments before qualifying it was confirmed Howie Mainwaring Smart split from Smiths Racing BMW and has been subsequently withdrawn from the race weekend.