Thruxton: Byrne bags Superpole from Bridewell

Shane Byrne has claimed his second consecutive Superpole after converting his dominant free practice pace at Thruxton.
Click here for full BSB qualifying results from Thruxton

Shane Byrne has claimed his second consecutive Superpole after converting his dominant free practice pace despite not producing a flawless pole lap at Thruxton.

With the new Superpole format making its second appearance in the MCE British Superbike championship, Byrne blitzed his rivals in Q2 with a 1m 13.843s to dart under the outright lap record at the Hampshire track.

The lap enabled the Be Wiser Ducati rider to run last in the Superpole format, meaning he'd know the time to beat before starting his single flying lap, as Bennetts Suzuki's Tommy Bridewell set the provisional pole time of 1m 14.590s.

Despite not producing a flawless lap to better his Q2 time, Byrne had enough of a margin to claim pole position by almost three-tenths of a second ahead of Bridewell.

Honda Racing's Dan Linfoot has grabbed a front row start in third despite missing out to Bridewell by 0.004s with Luke Mossey, Michael Laverty and Lee Jackson forming the second row for race one at Thruxton.

Billy McConnell placed his FS-3 Racing Kawasaki at the head of row three as Lee Hardy Racing duo Alastair Seeley and Jake Dixon completing the Showdown contenders.

Further back BSB title contenders JG Speedfit Kawasaki saw its trio of riders continue to struggle at Thruxton with Peter Hickman narrowly missing out on Superpole in 10th while former BSB championship leader Leon Haslam was also eliminated in Q2 and will start race one from 15th.

The biggest name to drop out in Q1 was James Ellison – who will start from 23rd on the grid – while moments before qualifying it was confirmed Howie Mainwaring Smart split from Smiths Racing BMW and has been subsequently withdrawn from the race weekend.
by Haydn Cobb

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, BSB [Credit:]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.