Cadwell Park: Byrne, Haslam and O’Halloran book Showdown spots

Shane Byrne, Leon Haslam and Jason O'Halloran have become the first three riders to secure places in the MCE British Superbike Showdown.
Shane Byrne, Leon Haslam and Jason O'Halloran have become the first three riders to secure places in the MCE British Superbike Showdown, having collected a sufficient points margin over their rivals at Cadwell Park.

The trio made up the rostrum in both races at the Lincolnshire circuit with Byrne and Haslam sharing a win apiece while O'Halloran grabbed a third and a second.

The results, coupled with closest contenders outside the top six Showdown spots Richard Cooper and Luke Mossey in joint-seventh, sees the top three pull out over a 75-point margin. It means regardless of results at the Oulton Park triple-header in two weeks they will be part of the Showdown.

Byrne, who claimed his seventh race win of the year plus a third place, still leads the championship with 272 points while Haslam is within touching distance thanks to his fourth victory of the campaign in race two to move to 251 points.

With Cooper and Mossey tied on 133 points, O'Halloran's second place in race two saw him narrowly clinch the third spot as he holds a 78-point margin over the nearest contenders outside the key top six positions.

Heading to the final round before the Showdown comes into play, the final three spots will be decided between Michael Laverty, Dan Linfoot and James Ellison with Cooper, Mossey, Peter Hickman, Christian Iddon and Tommy Bridewell looking to displace those currently in the top six. Glenn Irwin and Lee Jackson still hold outside chances of a Showdown place but require huge points swings and those above them in the standings not scoring.

See the updated BSB championship standings after Cadwell Park here.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Byrne, Haslam, O`Halloran, BSB [Credit:]
Rob Winfield, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Bonnie Lane]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB media]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
Taylor Mackenzie, Bennetts Suzki, BSB [Credit: BSB Media]
Taylor Mackenzie, Bennetts Suzki, BSB [Credit: BSB Media]
From Diggers to Ducatis
Tyco BMW bikes, Motorcycle Live [Credit: TAS Racing]
David Giugliano, Tyco BMW [Credit: MSV]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: MSV Media]
JG Speedfit Bournemouth Kawasaki livery, 2017, BSB
Hawk Racing Suzuki, BSB [Credit: BSB media]
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


August 30, 2016 11:04 AM

Another season... and yet more showdown nonsense. Quite why BSB continues with this ridiculous system is beyond me as no other championship has it. BSB is the best domestic championship in the world but yet it is let down by its points system.


August 30, 2016 1:09 PM

If the BSB organisers insist on a fabricated show then I'd like to see a mega points system for the last three races at Brands Hatch instead i.e 50 points for race 1 win, 100 points for race 2 win and 150 points for race 3 win. Points would remain the same for second place downwards - 20,16, 12 etc,etc. No more just the top six being allowed to race for the championship as we have now instead we have an even greater emphasis on getting that race win.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.