Oulton Park: Byrne snatches top spot from Haslam

Shane Byrne has pinched the top spot honours from Leon Haslam with his final lap in FP2 as Jake Dixon impressed in third.
Click here for full BSB FP2 results from Oulton Park

Shane Byrne has pinched the top spot honours from Leon Haslam with his final lap in FP2 as Jake Dixon nearly stunned the whole MCE British Superbike paddock by almost finishing the session fastest.

The BSB championship leader had been consistently lapping in the top ten during the bulk of the session with an eye on race set-up but his late blast was enough to take the fastest lap time from Haslam by almost two-tenths with a 1m 34.685s.

Both riders needed their final flying laps to jump to the front after Briggs Equipment BMW's Jake Dixon came close to topping his maiden BSB session with a late 1m 34.860s to briefly top the timesheet.

Further back BSB Showdown contender Jason O'Halloran narrowly led Honda Racing team-mate for fourth and fifth respectively.

In a session run under the threat of dark rain clouds drizzle drifted in and out of Oulton Park without causing the need for wet tyres but was the likely culprit for blisteringly fast lap times.

After missing a large chunk of FP1 due to a spill Tommy Bridewell took sixth for Bennetts Suzuki ahead of Quattro Plant Kawasaki's Luke Mossey as ePayMe Yamaha's John Hopkins and Buildbase BMW's Richard Cooper completing the top ten.

Cooper's late gain edged Ellison into 11th while Showdown contenders Michael Laverty could only managed 14th on the Tyco BMW and Peter Hickman 16th on the third JG Speedfit Kawasaki after suffering a small off at Knickerbrook midway through the session.

Ryuichi Kiyonari on his debut for Smiths Racing BMW claimed 17th upon his return to action on the German machinery.
by Haydn Cobb

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, BSB [Credit:]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.