TT Circuit Assen: Iddon goes top as Showdown riders gather

Christian Iddon has sprinted to the top of the timesheet for a second consecutive Friday free practice in the MCE British Superbike Showdown.
Click here for full BSB FP2 results from Assen

Christian Iddon has sprinted to the top of the timesheet for a second consecutive Friday free practice in the MCE British Superbike Showdown as Shane Byrne, Leon Haslam and Luke Mossey all start strongly at Assen.

The Tyco BMW rider has repeated his feat of becoming the fastest rider on a Friday having achieved the same success at Donington Park two weeks earlier.

Iddon's late flyer of 1m 36.752s was almost two-tenths under the BSB lap record at the Dutch track to nip ahead of BSB championship leader Byrne while his nearest title rival Haslam trailled in third by just 0.012s - with all three riders setting times under the official lap record.

Fellow top six contender Mossey also kept his Quattro Plant Kawasaki at the sharp-end in fourth ahead of Smiths BMW's Jakub Smrz who has a wealth of experience around the 'Cathedral of Speed' in his World Championship days.

The returning Broc Parkes claimed sixth on the timesheet for ePayMe Yamaha fresh from his Endurance World Championship efforts to nip ahead of Showdown contenders James Ellison and Dan Linfoot, with Richard Cooper and Jason O'Halloran completing the top ten contenders.

FP2 was prematurely suspended by a red flag after Bennetts Suzuki's Tommy Bridewell crashed out at turn one while Josh Wainwright also stopped at turn three with a technical issue.

After a quick check for any oil dropped on track at turn one the session was resumed with Haslam on top before Byrne and Iddon bolted to the top of the times.
by Haydn Cobb

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit:]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.