BSB announces single tyre supplier.

Pirelli has been named as the single tyre supplier for the British Superbike and Supersport Championships from 2008-2010.

Pirelli has been the exclusive tyre supplier for the World Superbike and Supersport Championships since 2004, but faced stiff opposition for the new BSB control-tyre contract from Dunlop.

BSB has previously been a 'free tyre' formula, with the majority of the field supplied by Dunlop. Michelin, which has won the BSB title for the past two seasons with Honda, did not tender for the one-tyre deal, while Pirelli also had only a limited presence in 2007.

"This is a landmark moment for the British Championships," declared BSB series director Stuart Higgs. "For the selected bidder it represents a great opportunity and responsibility, which I am confident that Pirelli can fulfil. This will be a great leveller for the championships and I relish the start of the on-track competition.

"In making the announcement of the selected bidder, I also acknowledge the obvious disappointment, the long standing contribution and the professionalism during this process of Dunlop, however the decision was confined strictly to determining the fulfilment of the requirements of the tender and the MCRCB's sporting objectives," he added.

Pirelli's successful bid thus opens up the prospect of high-profile BSB stars once again riding as wild-cards in their home WSBK rounds from next season

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2007 British Superbike Championship, Round One, Bands Hatch, UK, 9th April 2007; Race 1 Start Shot
Pirelli Tyres, German WSBK 2007
De Puniet, Jerez MotoGP Test November 2007
Mark and James Westmoreland [Credit: Holeshot PR]
James Westmoreland [Credit: Holeshot PR]
BSB grid [Credit: MCE British Superbikes]
Josh Brookes, Yamaha R1 [Credit:]
Aaron Zanotti, British Superbikes [Credit: British Superbikes]
Tyco BMW
Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1
Shane Byrne wins Torrens Trophy
Jack Kennedy and Taylor Mackenzie will ride for Team WD-40 in the British Superbike Championship

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.