Sykes confirmed for Race of the Year.

Tom Sykes will complete his Rizla Suzuki swansong at Mallory Park's Race of the Year after the multiple British Superbike race winner was announced as the headlining rider.

Having signed to World Superbikes with Yamaha in 2009, Sykes will give his bike one final flourish around Mallory Park as he bids to deliver another win for Suzuki after Cal Crutchlow triumphed in 2007.

The Race of the Year event regularly attracts good crowds to the Leicestershire circuit, with the open paddock giving fans the chance to experience the sights and sounds of the national racing scene ahead of the winter break.

Sykes won't be the only BSB contender taking part though, although the identity of these riders is yet to be confirmed.

“Tom Sykes is one of the biggest names in British Superbikes at the moment and after a brilliant podium performance at the European World Superbike round at Donington Park, he is hot property,” Mallory Park MD John Ward said. “We are delighted he is confirmed to be racing on his Rizla Suzuki at the Race of the Year on 19th October.

“It doesn't stop there though, there are quite a few of the other BSB regulars who are hoping to make the race and win the silverware, so Tom will not have it all his own way.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
portrait of 66. Tom Sykes Rizla Suzuki, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K8
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.